Standing out from the Crowd

I saw this little guy standing all by himself on the side of the road and immediately thought of Gavroche from Les Miserable.IMG_5210

Do you remember him?  He’s the little guy who points out the spy, Inspector Javert, then gives his life at the barricade for the cause.

Gavroche has a great song about the power of little people…

Good evening, dear inspector
Lovely evening, my dear.
I know this man, my friends
His name is Inspector Javert
So don’t believe a word he says
‘Cause none of it’s true
This only goes to show
What little people can do!

And little people know
When little people fight
We may look easy pickings
But we’ve got some bite
So never kick a dog
Because he’s just a pup
We’ll fight like twenty armies
And we won’t give up
So you’d better run for cover
When the pup grows up!

Sometimes…honestly…I feel quite insignificant.  Like I don’t measure up to everyone around me.  But measuring up isn’t really the goal is it?  Exploring and giving the best of myself is the goal.  Kinda like this little corn stalk.  No, he’s not 9′ tall or counted among the great mass of corn stalks in the field, but he’s giving it all he’s got!  And that makes him spectacular.

Just like me…and just like you.

IMG_5212

Leave a Reply

